Course Schedule

Please note that this schedule is subject to change.

Lecture 1: Course Overview

Monday, January 24, 2022

Lecture 2: RL-guided video streaming

Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Lecture 3: Short-term, in-place learning for video streaming

Monday, January 31, 2022

Lecture 4: ML-powered content enhancement for video streaming

Wednesday, Februrary 2, 2022

Lecture 5: Learned video compression for efficient storage

Monday, February 7, 2022

Lecture 6: ML-driven streaming QoE estimation on encrypted traffic

Wednesday, February 9, 2022

Lecture 7: Predicting viewports for efficient panoramic video streaming

Monday, February 14, 2022

Lecture 8: Super resolution-enhanced 360-degree video streaming

Wednesday, February 16 2022

Lecture 9: Enhancing uploaded live video with neural networks

Monday, February 21, 2022

Lecture 10: Volumetric video streaming (Guest Lecture: Rajrup Ghosh, USC)

Wednesday, February 23, 2022

In-Class Research Project Meetings

Monday, February 28, 2022

Lecture 11: Introduction to video conferencing

Wednesday, March 2, 2022

No Class: Spring Recess

Monday, March 7, 2022

No Class: Spring Recess

Wednesday, March 9, 2022

Lecture 12: Learned network-codec ties for conferencing

Monday, March 14, 2022

Lecture 13: Online RL for network-aware video conferencing

Wednesday, March 16, 2022

Lecture 14: Fusing learning and rule-based algorithms for conferencing

Monday, March 21, 2022

Lecture 15: Judicious inference and tracking for lightweight augmented reality

Wednesday, March 23, 2022

Lecture 16: Fine-grained DNN scheduling on mobile device GPUs for efficient AR

Monday, March 28, 2022

Lecture 17: Introduction to video analytics

Wednesday, March 30, 2022

Lecture 18: Continuous learning for edge video analytics

Monday, April 4, 2022

Lecture 19: Efficient indexing using compressed models for retrospective analytics

Wednesday, April 6, 2022

Lecture 20: Merging model layers for memory-efficient edge video analytics (Guest Lecture: Arthi Padmanabhan, UCLA)

Monday, April 11, 2022

Lecture 21: Privacy in ML-based video analytics (Guest Lecture: Frank Cangialosi, MIT)

Wednesday, April 13, 2022

Class Research Presentations

Monday, April 18, 2022

Class Research Presentations

Wednesday, April 20, 2022